Full list of UAE public holidays in 2019

Dates for Ramadan, Eid Al-Fitr, Hijri New Year and other important milestones

Full list of UAE public holidays in 2019

It's important to plan ahead.

And it's important to be aware of the dates for the UAE's public holidays, too.

The important dates in the country's calendar are often a cause for celebration or reflection, and it's good to be aware just when they are coming up.

Whether it's so you can book a short getaway or plan how you will spend some quality time with your loved ones, public holidays give us all a much-needed break.

Ramadan is expected to start at the beginning of May, with Eid Al-Fitr expected on Tuesday June 4.

Meanwhile, the date for Eid Al-Adha could indicate a three-day celebration which is estimated to begin on Monday August 12.

That means Hijri New Year's Day is likely to take place on Sunday September 1.

Many of the UAE's public holidays are Islamic celebrations, which are dictated by moon sightings, so the below list is subject to change.

But here's a provisional list of the country's public holidays for 2019 so you know what to look out for.

Tuesday January 1: New Year's Day
Wednesday April 3: Isra'a Wal Mi'raj (Prophet's Ascension)
Monday May 6: Start of Ramadan
Tuesday June 4: Eid Al-Fitr
Sunday August 11: Arafat (Haj) Day
Monday August 12: Eid Al-Adha
Friday August 30: Hijri (Islamic New Year)
Sunday November 10: Prophet Muhammad's (PBUH) birthday
Saturday November 30: UAE Commemoration Day
Monday December 2: UAE National Day  

Be the first to get all the latest Abu Dhabi news, reviews and deals into your inbox by signing up to our free newsletter, click here to sign up.

More from News

Cook new dishes with simple guides and ingredients

Tech on patrol to ensure public safety

Offering ten artists a six-month residency for 2021

New tests alternatives to PCR and DPI testing

The Big Beirut Relief Challenge is happening this week

Highest ranked in the world for July and August

Newsletters

Follow us